THE GALLERY: Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17

THE GALLERY: Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17

For the full Flickr of pics, click here

 

 


Follow Birmingham Review onFacebook - f square, rounded - with colourTwitter - t, square, rounded - with colourinstagram-logo-webcolours - RGB

 

 

Words by Ed King / Pics by Paul Reynolds

There’s an element of luck attached to most things in life: the lottery, love, moving next door to a Chihuahua stud farm (not always good luck). Then there’s endevour and hard graft.Birmingham Review

Tonight has all three, as my somewhat petulant approach to language drags me halfway across Birmingham to argue adjectives… only to find Rews at the end of it. Theirs is the hard graft, which rains dividends on The Flapper crowd lucky enough to be here. To read Damien Russell’s BREVIEW, click here.

About a week after this gig Rews had a special announcement to make. We’d been tipped off about this during our interview (out later) and been given the clue ‘branding on stage’ before the show. Being a two piece there wasn’t much clutter – with a lone Marshall amp standing testament to a thinly veiled secret. By the end of the gig I’d smugly worked it out. Or at least I thought I had.

THE GALLERY: Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17Turns out it’s not just free kit. Rews have been signed by Marshall Records – the legendary (not often you get to use that word and mean it) amp manufacturer who have been synonymous with interstellar rock acts since the 60’s.

“The deal with Marshall is focusing on releasing our debut album,” tells Collette Williams – the Animal/Ash Soan that makes up 50% of Rews, “which we are recording with producer Rob Cass between Abbey Road and Tileyard studios. We haven’t got a release date confirmed but it’s looking hopeful for autumn. Thank you to everyone for all of their support and to anyone who is just as excited as us.” 

Marshall announced their new label in summer 2016, making Rews one of their first signings; the best metaphor I can land on is ‘crest of a wave’. Rews have the mustard to make it work too, and the thought of them releasing an album is… exciting times. But in the interim (or summer) my spidey sense says you’ll probably run into Rews somewhere surrounded by sheep.

Until then here’s some pics from Rews at The Flapper, with support from MUTT and Ember Weir – shot by Paul Reynolds for Birmingham Review. 

Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17 / Paul Reynolds

THE GALLERY: Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17

THE GALLERY: Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17

THE GALLERY: Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17

THE GALLERY: Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17

THE GALLERY: Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17

THE GALLERY: Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17

For more on Rews, visit www.rewsmusic1.wordpress.com

____________

MUTT – supporting Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17 / Paul Reynolds

THE GALLERY: MUTT – supporting Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17 / Paul Reynolds © Birmingham Review

THE GALLERY: MUTT – supporting Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17 / Paul Reynolds © Birmingham Review

THE GALLERY: MUTT – supporting Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17 / Paul Reynolds © Birmingham Review

For more on MUTT, visit www.facebook.com/mutttheband

____________ 

Ember Weir – supporting Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17 / Paul Reynolds

THE GALLERY: Ember Weir – supporting Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17 / Paul Reynolds © Birmingham Review

THE GALLERY: Ember Weir – supporting Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17 / Paul Reynolds © Birmingham Review

THE GALLERY: Ember Weir – supporting Rews @ The Flapper 15.02.17 / Paul Reynolds © Birmingham Review

For more on Ember Weir, visit www.emberweir.bigcartel.com

____________

For more on Marshal Records, visit www.facebook.com/MarshallRecordLabel

For more from The Flapper, including full event listing and online ticket sales, visit www.theflapper.co.uk

For more from Birmingham promoters, visit www.birminghampromoters.com

Follow Birmingham Review onFacebook - f square, rounded - with colourTwitter - t, square, rounded - with colourinstagram-logo-webcolours - RGB

For the full Flickr of pics, click here

, , , , , , , , , ,