THE GALLERY: MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

for-the-full-flickr-of-pics-click-here

follow-birmingham-review-on-300x26facebook-f-square-rounded-with-colour-5cm-hightwitter-t-square-rounded-with-colour-5cm-highinstagram-logo-webcolours-rgb

 

 

Words & pics by Michelle Martin 

A favourite pastime to end an eventful year. It’s been a peculiar one.

I’ve once again donned a new cosplay for the weekend’s MCM Comic Con Birmingham – held at the NEC on 19th and 20th November. This time it’s a Vulcan Commander in Starfleet (AU), or as a friend mentioned, Spock’s wife.

For the first time (instead of hiding behind by my camera) I was approached by fans of my chosen cosplay asking for photos with me. A new territory that was nerve racking, but one I grew to quite enjoy.MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16

Although I did get more questionable looks from some middle aged, old school bikers – puzzled by hundreds of people dressed as a Twisty the Clown inspired Predator, Rick and Morty and a seven foot Totoro. The hall next door was hosting Motorcycle Live.

But thousands turned up for the MCM Comic Con at the NEC; the convention sold out weeks before, with both general and priority tickets snapped up by eager fans.

For me though, highlights of this year’s event were spotting Mythbuster Adam Savage and his NYCC incognito Totoro, a very accurate Negan cosplay, and the Marvel vs DC photoshoot at the giant NEC sign at the entrance.

All in all the photoshoots were far more organised this year, following the bad organisation last March for the DC Comics shoot. The lead photo (above) is by far one of my favourite shots in almost four years of attending conventions, even if it was from an unusual angle. Another photographer commented that if your knees aren’t dirty, you’re not working hard enough.

(I’ve also realised this year why cosplayers assemble in groups; travelling to the NEC on your own is very awkward in a military uniform with half shaved eyebrows and abnormally large Vulcan ears)

See everyone in March 2017 for the next MCM Comic Con at the NEC. But in the meantime, here are some pics for THE GALLERY from the November con.

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

MCM Comic Con @ NEC 19-20.11.16 / Michelle Martin © Birmingham Review

MCM Comic Con Birmingham returns to the NEC on 18-19th March. For direct event info, including programme updates and online ticket sales, visit www.mcmcomiccon.com/birmingham

For more on further MCM Comic Con events across the UK, visit www.mcmcomiccon.com

For more from the NEC, including full event listings and online ticket sales, visit www.thenec.co.uk

follow-birmingham-review-on-300x26facebook-f-square-rounded-with-colour-5cm-hightwitter-t-square-rounded-with-colour-5cm-highinstagram-logo-webcolours-rgb

, , ,

Comments are closed.